Senior members have more than 10 years of experience, published various research papers and contributed to the growth of IEEE. You can contact our senior members (listed below) to know more about IEEE .

Sameerchand Pudaruth
Head of Dept

Dr. Sameerchand Pudaruth is a Senior Lecturer and Head of the ICT Department at the University of Mauritius. He is a Senior member of IEEE, founding member of the IEEE Mauritius Subsection and the current Vice-Chair of the IEEE Mauritius Section. He is also a member of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). His research interests are Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Data Science, Machine Translation, Computer Vision, Robotics, Mobile Applications, Web Technologies, Multimedia, Blockchain and Information Technology Law.  He has written more than 50+ papers for national & international journals and conferences. He has been in the organising committee of many successful international conferences such as Africon 2013, IST Africa 2014, Africon 2015, ICCCS 2015, BigData 2015, DIPECC 2015, Africhi 2016, Emergitech 2016, NextComp 2017, ISCMI 2017, Mauritian Academic Conference 2018, icABCD 2018, Mauricon ICONIC 2018, icABCD2019, NextComp 2019, icABCD2020, Elecom 2020 and Mauricon ICONIC 2020. He has also written a book entitled, 'Python in One Week'. He is a reviewer for IEEE Access and Environment, Systems and Decisions (Springer) journals, amongst many others.

Kavi Kumar Khedo
Dean of Faculty

Dr. Kavi Kumar Khedo is an Associate Professor at the University of Mauritius and has a PhD in Computer Science.
He has more than 18 years of teaching and research experience in the field of computer science. He is currently leading the Internet of Things Research Group and the Health Informatics Research Group of the University of Mauritius.
He is committed to carrying out cutting-edge applied research that has real societal, environmental, and economic impact.
Dr. Khedo was a research scholar at the University of Lancaster UK and a Fulbright research scholar at the University of Massachusetts USA. He has published over 50 research papers on mobile computing, ubiquitous computing, health informatics, and wireless sensor networks in renowned journals and has presented his research at several international conferences. He has also served on numerous editorial boards of distinguished international journals such as IEEE Internet of Things Journal, IEEE Sensors, IEEE Transactions on Learning Technologies, SAGE Health Informatics Journal, IET Wireless Sensor Systems, SPRINGER Health and Technology Journal, WILEY International Journal on Communication Systems.

Associate Professor, Dean of Faculty,
Faculty of Information, Communication and Digital Technologies,
University of Mauritius
Tel (Office): (230) 403 7400 (Ext. 4003)

S. Z. Sayed Hassen
Associate Professor in the Electrical and Electronic Engineering Department

Dr. S. Z. Sayed Hassen was born in Port-Louis, Mauritius. After finishing college at Royal College Port-Louis, he obtained a BEng (Hons) and MEngSc in Electrical Engineering and Computing with 1st Class Honours from Monash University and his PhD from the University of New South Wales (UNSW), Australia. He was the recipient of a postgraduate scholarship from Monash University in 1998 to undertake a MEngSc in Control Systems Engineering. Following this, he worked in the Automotive sector as a Hardware Design Engineer at Australian Arrow Pty Ltd. He returned to Mauritius and took a position as Lecturer at University of Mauritius in 2002, where he remained until 2006 when he was awarded a scholarship by UNSW to pursue a doctoral degree in "Robust Control of Quantum Systems". He stayed on as a post-doctoral fellow and returned to UoM in 2012. His current post is Associate Professor in the Electrical and Electronic Engineering Department. He has served on the Board of various technical committees both as Chairperson and as a member including Mauritius Standards Bureau (MSB), Energy Efficiency Management Office (EEMO), Mauritius Renewable Energy Agency (MARENA) as well as on the organising committee of numerous conferences including as Chair of Technical Programme Committee (ELECOM 2018, 2020) and Co-Chair Organising Committee (Control Conference Africa 2021). He is a regular reviewer for IEEE Transactions and is registered with the Council of Registered Professional Engineers (Mauritius) and Institute of Engineers (Australia).

Mussawir Ahmad HOSANY
Senior Lecturer

Mussawir Ahmad HOSANY ( received his B.Eng (Hons) degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering with first class Honours from University of Mauritius in 1997, MSc degree in Electronics and Communications Engineering with distinction from University of Ulster (Belfast) in 2001 and PhD from University of Mauritius in Communication Theory in 2004. He has been awarded the University of Mauritius Postgraduate scholarship to read for his Mphil/PhD degree in 1998 and obtained the British Government Postgraduate scholarship by the Association of Commonwealth University in year 2000. In 2009, he was awarded the USA Fulbright postdoctoral fellowship and proceeded to California. He worked on a 12-month research project at the San Diego State University and successfully designed and implemented a cross-layer approach for H.264/AVC over fading channels. He was appointed as Head of Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering from 4th Oct. 2010 to 3rd Oct. 2012. Presently, he is senior lecturer at the University of Mauritius. He is a senior member of the IEEE and his current research interests are in performance evaluation of channel coding and modulation systems, 5G wireless communications, coded MIMO systems. He has formed part of the Section Nomination Committee of the IEEE Region 8 to carry out the IEEE Mauritius Subsection Executive Committee election in 2016. He has been a member of the TPC for IEEE Africon 2013, ELECOM 2016 conferences. He has published peer-reviewed IEEE conference papers and peer-reviewed journal papers with Elsevier and Springer Nature journals. He is presently working on research projects in the field of wireless communications funded by the University of Mauritius and Higher Education Commission.

Ismael Essackjee
Senior Engineer at CEB
Ismael Essackjee is a Senior Engineer with over 15 years of experience at the Central Electricity Board. He is currently in charge of the construction and project management of transmission lines. Ismael is also active in teaching at tertiary institutions in modules pertaining to Engineering and Management. He is a researcher in the field of Renewable Energy Integration as well as a Certified Coach to accompany people in their growth into a better version of themselves. He can be reached via the following means: 
Mobile: 52530702
Neecharl Ramprosand
Chairman IEEE Mauritius Section
  • Currently works in private sector as Head of ICT.
  • Neecharl is currently serving as Section Chairman for Mauritius & is also a Senior IEEE Member.
  • He is the co-founder of IEEE Mauritius subsection (2010) as well as the petitioner to elevate the unit to full section level (2019).
  • He is also the co-founder of the Rotary club of Saint Pierre, Mauritius.
  • In 2020, the following sub-units were created:
    • Power & Energy Society/Systems Council Joint-Chapter
    • Students & Young Professionals Affinity group
  • Revitalised the following student branches: University of Mauritius STB & University of Technology Mauritius STB

Contact details: | +2305941 1777