The EDS Germany Chapter and NanoP proudly presents Prof. Hiroshi Iwai Vice Dean and Distinguished Professor from ICST. NYCU, Taiwan for a Distinguished Lecture on “Impact and Future of Nanoelectronics”. The lecture will be held on 18th February 2022 at 10am Berlin time. Interest participants please register via IEEE vTools by the following link:

Progress of micro-/nano-electronics in the past 50 years was tremendous. Because of the continuous size reduction of the electron devices, the performance, cost, energy consumption, volume, and weight of electronic machines/systems have improved with the order of billions to trillion times in comparison with the early 1990’s when electronics started with vacuum tubes. Microelectronics started at the beginning of 1970’s with LSI (Large Scale Integrated circuits) with the minimum device feature size of 10 µm providing us the microprocessors, and improved our society dramatically. Now, the nano-CMOS VLSIs (Very Large Scale Integrated circuits) with the minimum feature size of 10 nm order, provided us intelligent smart society with internet, 5G smart phone, and AI machine. While demands of the smart society to high-performance semiconductor devices are increasing, the downsizing of the electron devices is approaching to its limit, and there will be no pico-electronics anymore next to the nano-electronics. In this presentation, the present status and future of nanoelectronics are explained.

Hiroshi Iwai Biography:
Prof. Hiroshi Iwai was born in Tokyo, Japan and received B.E. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Tokyo. He worked at Toshiba Corporation from 1973 to 1999, developing NMOS, CMOS, BiCMOS, and mixed-signal LSI technologies and products. In 1999, he moved to Tokyo Institute of Technology and conducted nano CMOS research until 2020. In 2020, he received the Yushan Scholar title from the Taiwan government and worked at ICST, NCTU. He is currently a Vice Dean and Distinguished Chair Pofessor, ICST, NYCU, Taiwan and a Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan. His received awards include IEEE J.J. Ebers Award, Yamazaki Teiich Prize, IEEE Paul Rapapport Award, IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award, ECS Thomas Callinan Award, and ECS Gordon E. Moore Medal. He is a life fellow of IEEE, anawarded life member and fellow of ECS, and a fellow of IEEJ, IEICE, and JSAP. He served as chairs/members/editors of academic societies/conferences/journals. He served the President of IEEE EDS, the Director of IEEE Division I and Chair of ECS Japan Section.