Sense IT

09:30 Welcome talk
           Donatella Sciuto, Executive Vice Rector and Rector’s Delegate for Research, Politecnico di Milano
           Emiliano Schena chair of the IEEE Italy Sensors Chapter
           Paola Saccomandi, Secretary of the IEEE Italy Sensors Chapter
           Dajana Cassioli, Chair of the IEEE WIE Affinity Group- Italy Section
10:00 Fiber optic sensors
           Stefania Campopiano, Università Di Napoli Parthenope, Naples (
10:40 Sensors for human movement analysis: are we changing the game?
           Elena Bergamini, Università Degli Studi “Foro Italico”, Rome (

11:20 Break

11:30 Thermometry and sensors for temperature monitoring in biomedical applications
           Paola Saccomandi, Politecnico di Milano, Milan (
12:10 Pitches of the three finalist teams
           “Best Research Activity on Sensors Pitch Presentation”  (Information below)

13:15 Light Lunch

14:15 Award ceremony
14:30 GENEVA 2020 – “Gender Equality iN rEsearch and innoVAtion”
           “Interactive Poster Session”
15:00 IEEE Italy Section WIE AG 4th annual meeting
           The WIE.steer2STEM.chart 2.0

17:00 Closing Session

Keynote Speakers


Stefania Campopiano


Paola Saccomandi


Elena Bergamini

Submission of abstract for the “Best Research Activity on Sensors Pitch Presentation”

Join the competition!

Teams composed of one girl and one boy are invited to present their joined research activity during our SenseIT event!
The two Team’s members must be IEEE Student members, and can apply to this initiative by submitting a short abstract of the project, according to the following indications:

-Names of the two Team’s members
-Affiliations and emails of the two Team’s members
-Abstract (maximum 300 words)

The Evaluation Committee will evaluate the received applications by considering the originality and the scientific content of the projects. The three finalist teams will be invited to pitch their project during the SenseIT event, and the best team will be awarded with 300 € prize sponsored by the IEEE Sensor Council.
The members of the Evaluation Committee are: Dr. Elena Bergamini, Prof. Stefania Campopiano, Dr. Monica La Mura, Prof. Paola Saccomandi, Prof. Emiliano Schena

DEADLINE: November 15, 2020, 2pm



ieee_sensors (1)