The IEEE Italian RAS Chapter
was established in 2000.

The Chapter sponsors or cosponsors mini symposia,
awards and student competitions and continuing education workshops.

The I-RAS Young Author Best Paper Award has been named after Fabrizio Flacco who prematurely passed away in 2016, a few days after winning the eighth edition of the award.


One becomes a member of the IEEE I-RAS Chapter when she/he joins the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society.

Italian RAS chapter was established in 2000. Paolo Fiorini was the Italian RAS chair from 2001 to March 2006, Domenico Prattichizzo from 2006 to 2010, Gianluca Antonelli from 2011 to end of 2014. From January 2015 to December 2018, the chair has been Lucia Pallottino.

Since January 2019, the Chair is Andrea Zanchettin. I-RAS has been awarded by the “RAS Chapter of the year award”, in 2006, 2008, 2013, and 2019.